Item has been added to your cart!
View Cart

Please update your browser's security settings.
To maintain the highest security standards, we will be disabling support for browsers using TLS 1.0. Learn more and upgrade your browser here.


Keeping our aviation heroes, leaders and innovators in the hearts and minds of Canadians.

Robert William Bradford

See Inductee Profile

William Keir Carr

See Inductee Profile

Nils Christensen

See Inductee Profile

J.A.D McCurdy

See Inductee Profile

Elsie MacGill

See Inductee Profile

Larry Millberry

See Inductee Profile

Robert Richmond

See Inductee Profile

Dafydd Williams

See Inductee Profile

News and Events


Remembering Max Ward(1921 - 2020)

By John Chalmers
With the passing of Max Ward, Canada has lost another aviation pioneer. He was the founder of his legendary company, Wardair, which he started in 1953 with a single aircraft, a de Havilland Otter. Following his service with the RCAF as a flying instructor in Canada during the Second World War, the first aircraft Max owned was a de Havilland Fox Moth with which he flew passengers and freight, like the bush pilots he admired in the 1930s. Max Ward is seen here with his wife Marjorie, at the 2018 induction dinner and ceremonies for Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame, held in Calgary. He was inducted as an original Member of the Hall in 1974. (Rick Radell photo) His company eventually flew aircraft that included Boeing 747, Douglas DC-10 and Airbus 320 airliners. Beginning as a regional carrier, Wardair became Canada’s largest charter airline, known for its service, flying internationally and operating scheduled service. The company was eventually sold in 1989 to Canadian Airlines, which operated until 2001, when its aircraft were acquired by Air Canada. In 1973 Max Ward was the recipient of the Trans-Canada (McKee) Trophy, Canada’s oldest and most prestigious aviation award. He was installed as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1975, and was a recipient of the Alberta Order of Excellence in 1989. A resident of Edmonton, Max Ward died on November 2, twenty days before his 99th birthday. A Fox Moth once owned by Max, still “flies” today at the Canada Aviation Space Museum in Ottawa.


Remembering Lieutenant General (ret’d) William Carr

With a heavy heart Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame announces the passing of inducted member Lieutenant General (ret’d)  William Carr, CMM, DFC, OStJ, CD.  Known as the “Father of the Modern Canadian Air Force” LGen (ret’d) Carr was an accomplished and decorated pilot who began flying with the RCAF in 1941. Moving overseas with the RCAF in 1942 he piloted Spitfires with two difference squadrons, performing photographic reconnaissance of great accuracy, thereby substantially contributing to the success of the Allied 8th Army in Italy. 
He continued with the RCAF after the war, earning his MSc degree and graduating with the rank of Wing Commander. In the mid-1950s he joined the RCAF’s Air Transport Command’s 412 VIP Squadron. He would then be promoted to Group Captain in 1960 and was deployed to the Congo where he commanded air units from more than a dozen nations in support of the United Nations Peacekeeping operations. 
After returning to Canada he became commanding officer of the RCAF Station in Namao, Alberta and later in the 1960s held command and staff appointments with Mobile Command and Training Command. In 1970 Major General Carr was appointed NORAD Chief of Operations in Colorado Springs, USA. Three years later he became Chief of Air Operations for the Canadian Armed Forces. The following year he would become Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff where he was responsible for centralizing all Canadian air power under a new Air Command in 1975, where he would become the first commander and earn his title of the “Father of the Modern Canadian Air Force”. 
He has received numerous awards and recognitions for the work he has done throughout his life. LGen (ret’d) Bill Carr passed away on October 14, 2020. 
We send along our deepest condolences to all family and friends of LGen (ret’d) William Carr.


Election for National Directors
Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame has four positions opening on the National Board of Directors. Please find here the list of names of those who have been nominated for Directorship.

For additional information on each nominee please contact the office at Contact us  

Nominees: Michael Bannock (second term), Walter Heneghan, Rob Madden, Lynne McMullen, Robert Porter
Voting is only open to those who are paid Friends of the Hall in good standing (individual and corporate). Each Friend is allotted one vote per vacant seat.
To place your vote on the four new Directors please email your choices to Nominations 
Voting closes Friday April 3, 2020.


Learn more about our 2020 Inductees here